NetHack  - 讨论区

标题:Absolute Beginner's Guide for NetHack

2010年06月11日 星期五 00:52

Absolute Beginner's Guide for NetHack 3.4.1 v.1.81 (18.6.2002)

(a.k.a. I Keep Dying And Dying And Dying, What Should I Do?
a.k.a. I Keep Dying In The Game And I Must Suck. What Am I Doing Wrong?)

Written by  Mikko Saari  with contributions from Raisse the Thaumaturge, JPV, Aaron, Scott Schulz, David Damerell, Topi Linkala, Chip McCleary, Timo Korvola, Eva Myers, Oisin "Curly++" Curtin, Virgo Vardja and Dylan O'Donnell. Extra special thanks to Raisse for being a nitpick.

Thanks to Gary D. Young for the second subtitle, though this honour probably belongs to the endless stream of newbies of r.g.r.n. May Moloch leave you in peace, for you are our future!

NetHack is, without a doubt, the best game ever written. There are many reasons for this. First, it's free. Second, it's more complicated and deeper than pretty much anything else. And third, if zipped, it almost fits on single 1,44 Mb diskette. How many games today can achieve all that?

It is also one of the most difficult games I've ever met. I've only ascended (NetHack term for winning the game) it once. And I've played it for years. Ok, I suck, but it's also because the game is so difficult. Especially in the beginning. And that's why I wrote this, to help beginning players to get some idea what is going on, without spoiling the fun.

If you have any comments/additions to this, please mail me (my address can be found in the end of this file). This guide is valid for NetHack 3.4.1, but most things should be correct for earlier versions as well. That I won't guarantee, however. And before you whine and complain to me, please read the disclaimer in the end.

First, some quick notes which can help survival a lot, not in any particular order (except the first one, which is very, very important!):

• NetHack is not Quake. If there is a monster beside you, it doesn't mean you have to act quickly. Take your time and think!